UNESCO-Hamdan Prize for Teacher Development ($300,000)

UNESCO-Hamdan Prize for Teacher Development
UNESCO-Hamdan Prize for Teacher Development

UNESCO-Hamdan Prize for Teacher Development ($300,000)

Call for Applications and Nominations for the eighth edition of the UNESCO-Hamdan Prize for Teacher Development. The UNESCO-Hamdan Prize for Teacher Development was created in 2008 to support the improvement of teaching and learning quality in achieving the Sustainable Development Goal 4 on education, which is one of UNESCO’s priorities.

Awarded every two years, the Prize is generously supported by the Hamdan bin Rashid Al Maktoum Foundation for Distinguished Academic Performance (Hamdan Foundation). The winners are selected by an International Jury composed of five distinguished professionals chosen for their high-level of knowledge and experience in teacher-related issues

Award benefit

The Prize amounts to US $300,000, which is equally divided between three winners whose projects aim at improving worldwide the performance and effectiveness of teachers worldwide.

Eligibility Requirements

Who can nominate?

Governments of UNESCO Member States via their National Commissions to UNESCO and Non-Governmental Organizations (NGOs) in official partnership with UNESCO can make up to 5 nominations. Self-nominations are not accepted.

Who can be nominated?

Institutions or organizations; international or national governmental or non-governmental organizations; educational or research institutions active in the field of teaching and learning. Projects from individuals are not eligible for nominations and will not be considered.

Selection criteria

The project submitted by candidates shall have made a significant contribution to enhancing teaching and learning, in line with UNESCO’s principles and objectives In addition, the project must:

  • have been implemented for at least three years, so its results can be evaluated and its effectiveness verified;
  • represent an outstanding contribution to the fundamental objectives of UNESCO and the UN in the field of quality education for sustainable development;
  • be such that it can be reproduced elsewhere and is likely to foster similar initiatives;
  • have shown itself to be effective in mobilizing new intellectual and material resources.

Each nominating body can nominate up to 5 candidates, no later than by the set deadline.

Deadline: 31 October 2023

Click here to fill the registration form

Visit the UNESCO-Hamdan Prize website

Read Also

You May Also Like